About Cowan

About Cowan Main Image

“The electorate of Cowan, like all of the outer suburban electorates of Australia's major cities, represents the best of our country. And if the outer suburbs represent our new demographic heartland, it is a warm and trusting heart indeed.”

Dr Anne Aly MP, first speech, 12 September 2016


The Federal Division of Cowan takes in diverse, vibrant communities across Perth’s northern suburbs. It’s full of warm-hearted and welcoming people who work hard, look out for each other, and pursue a better future for themselves and their loved ones.

It’s an area of Perth defined by its friendly families, active local volunteers, and thriving community spirit. But ever-increasing costs of living, stagnant wage growth and a lack of job opportunities in the northern suburbs are taking their toll. For instance, rents in some areas of Cowan rose by 25% over the course of 2021 alone, a $5000 hit to local renters’ annual budgets.

Cowan needs the kinds of policies a Labor Government will deliver – like investment in local schools and TAFEs, support for jobs and apprenticeships in emerging industries, and forward-thinking infrastructure that will last generations.

Following the 2021 redistribution, the suburbs below will form part of Cowan from the 2022 election onwards (suburbs in bold are joining Cowan at the election):

  • Alexander Heights
  • Balcatta
  • Balga
  • Ballajura
  • Beechboro
  • Dianella (north of Morley Drive)
  • Girrawheen
  • Greenwood
  • Hamersley
  • Kiara
  • Koondoola
  • Lockridge
  • Malaga
  • Marangaroo
  • Mirrabooka
  • Morley (north of Morley Drive)
  • Nollamara
  • Noranda
  • Osborne Park (east of Mitchell Freeway)
  • Stirling
  • Warwick
  • Westminster


“Cowan, as I mentioned in my first speech, is a beautiful and wonderful mix of different demographics, including new and emerging communities, new developments, older suburbs and significant commercial and light industrial areas.”

Dr Anne Aly MP, address-in-reply, 19 September 2019