MEDIA RELEASE - Celebrating early childhood educators in science, technology, engineering and mathematics

19 August 2022

19 August 2022

Celebrating early childhood educators in science, technology, engineering and mathematics

Early childhood services and educators around the nation have been recognised for their
innovation in engaging young Australians in inquiry-based learning.

Minister for Early Childhood Education Dr Anne Aly congratulated the national and state and
territory winners of the 2022 Little Scientists Early STEM Awards, acknowledging their work to
spark an early love of science in children.

“The Little Scientists Awards are an exciting introduction to STEM for young Australians helping
encourage scientific exploration at home and in the classroom,” Minister Aly said.

“The award-winning projects demonstrate the wide variety of ways to implement inquiry-based
learning and child-led STEM exploration in the early years. Encouraging children to be inquisitive
of the world around them, and to explore complex topics and themes.

“Our early childhood educators and teachers do an amazing job at engaging young children and
helping them understand complex subjects, creating a strong foundation for continual learning.”

The theme for this year’s awards, Quirky Curious Futures, encouraged participants to use their
imagination and play with quirky ideas, let children’s curiosity run wild and create their own
visions of the future.

Part of the Little Scientists program, the awards offer professional learnings for early childhood
educators looking to find fun and engaging ways to introduce STEM concepts.

Recipients include The Professor Lynn Corcoran Early Learning Centre: FROEBEL Parkville, and
their project “It takes a 100 years to grow a tree”. Taking children on a journey to understand the
concept of time in its many forms through self-generated inquisitive learning.

The Australian Government invested $27.3 million in the 2020-21 Budget to improve STEM skills
in early learners and school students through a variety of STEM programs. This included $2.5
million to extend the Little Scientists Program.

Winners of the Little Scientists Early STEM Award:


Service Name

Project Title


The Professor Lynn Corcoran Early Learning Centre: FROEBEL Parkville

‘It takes a 100 years to grow a tree’


The Point Preschool

Highly Commended


The Spectacular Find


FROEBEL Carlton Early Learning Centre

Little scientists with big senses


Glass House Early Education Centre

Can we save Humpty Dumpty?



Hensman Street Elementary


Ramps and Pathways


Good Shepherd Lutheran School (Curiosity Early Learning)

Air – How do we get things to fly?


St. Paul's Early Learning Centre

Highly Commended

Little Gardeners



Bagdad Education and Care


Parks and Parts


Further information about the Little Scientists Early STEM Award can be found here: 


Media Contact:         Minister Aly, Hannah Porter – 0499 976 340